+1 208-342-5900

+1 208-342-5900

卵子冷冻和生育力保存

生育力保存包括三个基本过程:冷冻卵子、冷冻精子和/或冷冻胚胎以供日后使用。出于多种原因可以保持生育能力,例如:在暴露于性腺毒性药物(如化疗或放疗)之前进行冷冻;在手术切除性腺之前冷冻;或在更年轻的时候冷冻卵子,从而减少女性因衰老而自然下降的生育能力。此外,配子(精子或卵子)可以在用于性别转换的激素治疗开始之前保存。 

鸡蛋冻结

卵子冷冻为患者提供了保持生育能力的机会,直到他们准备好组建家庭。通常,这些女性的年龄在 25 到 40 岁之间。这可能有多种原因,包括: – 在开始化疗或放疗之前被诊断出患有癌症的女性 – 有卵巢早衰或早期卵巢衰竭家族史的女性更年期开始 – 由于道德或宗教原因,希望限制在试管婴儿周期中受精的卵子数量的女性 – 由于个人、经济或职业原因希望推迟生育的女性 – 将启动睾丸激素的跨性别男性跨性别关怀的一部分。

女性的生育能力在 20 多岁时开始下降,并且在 35 岁之后下降得越来越快。这种生育能力的下降还与流产率和染色体异常率增加有关。许多女性在年轻时冷冻卵子,以提高未来的生育潜力,并降低未来流产和后代染色体异常的风险。

冷冻卵子使女性患者能够暂停他们的生物钟,无论是出于健康还是个人原因,并在最佳时间点保存卵子。当他们将来选择使用这些卵子时,他们将使用更年轻的卵子,这可以降低流产率和遗传问题。卵子冷冻不再被认为是辅助生殖技术的一种实验形式,ICRM 正在通过这项技术实现极好的受孕率。

过程

卵子冷冻过程包括服用生育药物来刺激多个卵泡(卵子的家园),然后是取卵程序。此过程的基本步骤包括可能开始使用避孕药,这用于同步卵群并允许对刺激周期进行逻辑规划。通常,患者服用避孕药 2-3 周。如果时间紧迫,并且由于需要开始化疗或手术而必须非常快速地进行卵巢过度刺激,则可以绕过避孕药步骤。服用避孕药后,可注射激素(促性腺激素,促卵泡激素)用于刺激卵巢并长出多个卵泡。每个成熟的卵泡内都有一个卵子。一旦卵泡成熟,就会使用触发注射来完成最终的成熟过程。触发后,取卵在 36 小时后进行。取卵是一种小型外科手术,涉及每个卵泡的超声引导针抽吸。使用静脉内镇静麻醉。这是在诊所内完成的同一天程序,通常持续 30-45 分钟。然后通过称为玻璃化的过程立即冷冻卵子。这允许鸡蛋无限期地储存。总之,患者应该预计 10 到 14 天来完成这个过程。如果患者有一个他们想要未来孩子的男性伴侣,那么卵将在大约 5-7 天后进行授精和冷冻。与冷冻卵子类似,冷冻胚胎可以无限期地储存,并且在冷冻/解冻过程中表现良好。 

对于希望保留生育能力的男性患者,可以在射精后冷冻精子。如果无法射精,泌尿科医生专门的不孕症护理可以协助手术提取精子。

卵子、精子和胚胎冷冻保存的过程使许多患者能够在原本会变得非常困难的情况下建立家庭。生育力保存越来越被利用,并且是所有年龄段女性和男性的绝佳选择。

+1 208-342-5900

+1 208-342-5900

Egg Freezing and Fertility Preservation

Fertility preservation consists of three basic processes: freezing eggs, freezing sperm, and/or freezing embryos to be used at a later date. Fertility preservation can be done for various reasons, such as: freezing prior to the exposure of gonadotoxic agents such as chemotherapy or radiation;  freezing prior to surgical removal of gonads; or freezing eggs at a younger age thus decreasing the natural decline of fertility due to aging in women. Additionally, gametes (sperm or eggs) can be preserved prior to the onset of hormonal treatments used for gender transitioning. 

Egg Freezing

Egg freezing provides the opportunity for patients to preserve their fertility until they are ready to start a family. Typically, these women are between the ages of 25 and 40. This could be for several reasons, including: – Women who have been diagnosed with cancer, prior to beginning chemotherapy or radiation treatment – Women with a family history of premature ovarian failure or early onset of menopause – Women who wish to limit the number of eggs they wish to fertilize during an IVF cycle due to ethical or religious reasons – Women who wish to delay childbearing because of personal, economic, or professional reasons-Transmen who will initiate testosterone as part of transgender care.

Fertility in females begins to decline in their late 20s and declines increasingly rapidly after the age of 35. This decrease in fertility is also associated with increased miscarriage rates and increased rates of chromosomal abnormalities. Many women freeze their eggs at a younger age to improve future fertility potential and decrease risk of future miscarriage and chromosomal abnormalities of offspring.

The freezing of eggs enables female patients to pause their biological clock, whether for health or personal reasons, and preserve their eggs at an optimal point in time. When they choose to use those eggs in the future, they will be using younger eggs that can decrease the rates of miscarriage and genetic problems. Egg freezing is no longer considered to be an experimental form of assisted reproductive technology, and excellent pregnancy rates are being achieved at ICRM with this technology.

The Process

The egg freezing process involves taking fertility medication to stimulate multiple ovarian follicles (the homes for the eggs) followed by an egg retrieval procedure. The basic steps of this process include potentially starting birth control pills, this is used to synchronize the cohort of eggs and allow for logistical planning of the stimulation cycle.  Typically, a patient is on a birth control pill 2-3 weeks. If time is critical and the ovarian hyperstimulation must be done very quickly due to the need to initiate chemotherapy or surgery, the birth control pill step can be bypassed. Following birth control pills, injectable hormones (gonadotropins, which are follicle stimulating hormones) are used to stimulate the ovaries and grow multiple  follicles. Within each mature follicle is a single egg. Once the follicles are mature, a trigger injection is used to complete the final maturation process. Following the trigger, the oocyte retrieval is performed 36 hours later. The oocyte retrieval is a minor surgical procedure which involves ultrasound-guided needle aspiration of each follicle. Intra venous sedation anesthesia is used. This is a same-day procedure that is completed within the clinic and typically lasts 30-45 minutes. The eggs are then immediately frozen through a process called vitrification. This allows the eggs to be stored indefinitely. In all, the patient should anticipate 10 to 14 days to complete this process. If the patient has a male partner with whom they desire future children, then the eggs will be inseminated and frozen approximately 5-7 days later. Similar to frozen eggs, frozen embryos can be stored indefinitely and do well with the freeze/thaw process. 

For male patients who desire fertility preservation, sperm can be frozen following ejaculation. If unable to ejaculate, urologists specialized infertility care can assist with surgical extraction of sperm.

The process of egg, sperm, and embryo cryopreservation has enabled numerous patients to achieve families following circumstances that would have otherwise made it very difficult.  Fertility preservation is becoming increasingly utilized and is a wonderful option for women and men of all ages.