+1 208-342-5900

+1 208-342-5900

體外受精(IVF)

什麼是體外受精(IVF)?

試管嬰兒是一種用於解決一系列生育問題的生育治療方法,包括但不限於:男性因素、輸卵管因素、原因不明和年齡相關的不孕症。它也可以作為一種選擇,供那些在更保守的生育治療方面沒有成功的人使用。

這個怎麼運作

作為女性自然月經週期的一部分,腦垂體會產生激素(促性腺激素),從而推動優勢卵泡(含有卵子)的生長和排卵(成熟卵子的釋放)。試管嬰兒涉及皮下注射這些相同激素的純化版本,以刺激多個卵泡的生長,目的是讓女性在 10-14 天的時間內從盡可能多的卵子中排卵。通過連續盆腔超聲和雌激素抽血監測對這些藥物的反應。

一旦通過使用促性腺激素注射獲得最佳數量的成熟卵子,就會進行精心定時的觸發注射以刺激排卵。通常,在觸發後 36 小時執行取卵程序以從有反應的卵泡中取出卵子。這是在辦公室麻醉下進行的手術,包括在超聲引導下使用經陰道針從所有有反應的卵泡中取出卵子。

一旦卵子成功地從卵巢中取出,成熟的卵子就會在胚胎學實驗室通過在卵子周圍添加固定濃度的精子或通過胞漿內精子注射(ICSI,將提供一個鏈接)受精。取卵後的第二天,將重新評估卵子以確認受精成功。然後通常將受精卵培養 5-6 天,直至囊胚階段。  

囊胚是一個包含大約 70-100 個細胞的胚胎,在顯微鏡檢查下類似於一個充滿液體的球體,裡面有一組細胞。通常,囊胚有兩個部分:1) 內細胞團,一組將長成嬰兒的細胞;2) 滋養層,即圍繞液體中心的外層細胞,將發育成胎盤(如下圖所示) )。囊胚通常在形態學上分級,作為胚胎質量的一項指標。此外,可以對滋養外胚層進行活檢以進行胚胎的染色體分析(非整倍體的植入前基因檢測,PGT-A 提供鏈接),以確保它們正在轉移 23 個具有最高成功植入機會的染色體感受態胚胎。 

對於攜帶單基因遺傳病的個人/夫婦,也可以對胚胎進行單基因病的基因前檢測。這稱為單基因疾病的植入前基因檢測 (PGT-M)。 

囊胚是胚胎的階段,通常轉移到女性的子宮進行受孕。如果有額外的胚胎,個人可以選擇冷凍保存 supranumerary 囊胚以備後用。

+1 208-342-5900

+1 208-342-5900

In Vitro Fertilization (IVF)

What is In Vitro Fertilization (IVF)?

IVF is a type of fertility treatment used to address a range of fertility problems, including but not limited to: male factor, tubal factor, unexplained, and age-related infertility. It may also be offered as an option for individuals who have not had success with more conservative fertility treatments.

How it Works

As part of a woman’s natural menstrual cycle, the pituitary gland produces hormones (gonadotropins) that drive the growth of a dominant follicle (that contains an egg) and ovulation (release of the mature egg). IVF involves subcutaneous injections of purified versions of these same hormones to stimulate the growth of multiple follicles, with the goal of trying to get a woman to ovulate from as many eggs as possible over a 10-14 day timeframe. The response to these medications is monitored by serial pelvic ultrasound and blood draws of estrogen.

Once the optimal number of mature eggs have been obtained through the use of gonadotropin injections, a carefully timed trigger injection is administered to provoke ovulation. Typically, 36 hours from trigger an egg retrieval procedure is performed to remove eggs from the responding follicles. This is a procedure performed under anesthesia in-office, and involves using a transvaginal needle under ultrasound guidance to remove eggs from all of the responding follicles.

Once the eggs have been successfully removed from the ovaries, mature eggs are then fertilized in the embryology lab either by adding a fixed concentration of sperm around the eggs, or by Intracytoplasmic Sperm Injection (ICSI, would provide a link for this). The day following egg retrieval, eggs are then re-assessed to confirm successful fertilization. Fertilized eggs are then typically cultured for 5-6 days, to the blastocyst stage.  

A blastocyst is an embryo that contains about 70-100 cells, and under microscopic examination resembles a fluid-filled sphere w/ a cluster of cells inside. Typically, a blastocyst has two parts: 1) the inner cells mass, a cluster of cells which will grow into the baby and 2) the trophectodeterm, the outer layer of cells around the fluid center that will develop into the placenta (show picture below). Blastocysts are typically graded morphologically as one indicator of the quality of the embryo. Additionally, the trophectoderm can be biopsied for chromosome analysis of an embryo (pre-implantation genetic testing for aneuploidy, PGT-A provide link) to make sure they are transferring 23 chromosome competent embryos which have the highest chance of successful implantation. 

Pre-genetic testing of the embryo for single gene disorders can also be done in the case of individuals/couples that are carrier for single gene genetic disorders. This is called pre-implantation genetic testing for monogenic disorders (PGT-M). 

Blastocysts are the stage of embryo typically transferred to a woman’s uterus for conception. If there are extra embryos, individuals can opt to cryopreserve supranumerary blastocysts for later use.