+1 208-342-5900

+1 208-342-5900

基因檢測

前基因攜帶者篩選

基因篩查是對一個群體進行 DNA 變化(構成我們是誰的基因序列)進行測試的過程,這些變化可能會傳遞給後代並導致遺傳疾病。基因篩查通常通過抽血或面頰拭子來完成。然後針對與特定遺傳疾病相關的 DNA 序列(DNA 突變)的特定變化對樣本進行篩選。基因檢測通常對女性和男性伴侶進行,這將有助於最終懷孕。  

有超過 30,000 個基因構成了人類基因組。個體攜帶構成基因組的絕大多數基因的兩個拷貝。在某些情況下,任何一方的基因單拷貝中的 DNA 突變都可能與遺傳疾病有關。更常見的是,雙方都是攜帶者(他們有一個未受影響的基因和一個受臨床顯著突變影響的基因)。在任何一種情況下,都有將遺傳疾病傳染給後代的風險。  

在患者繁殖之前向患者提供基因前攜帶者篩查。該測試將評估它們是否是某種疾病的攜帶者。關於常染色體隱性遺傳病,卵子和精子都必須攜帶有 25% 兒童患有這種常染色體隱性遺傳病的風險。常染色體隱性遺傳病的一個例子是囊性纖維化。

胚胎的基因前測試

當通過基因篩查確認有患病兒童的風險時,有可能通過囊胚檢測(稱為單基因疾病或 PGT-M 的植入前基因檢測的過程)來預防傳播。這涉及對來自 IVF 的第 5-6 天胚胎進行活檢,並測試胚胎的未受影響、攜帶者和完全受影響的遺傳疾病狀態。然後可以優先轉移未受影響或攜帶者的胚胎,以避免產生受影響的孩子或消除相關疾病的未來傳播。  

預基因檢測 (PGT) 是指對第 5-7 天胚胎(囊胚階段)的 5-10 個細胞進行活檢並進行評估以確定胚胎是否具有 23 條染色體。活檢的細胞是構成胎盤細胞的細胞,而不是構成胎兒的細胞。它不被認為對胚胎有害。

+1 208-342-5900

+1 208-342-5900

Genetic Testing

Pre-Genetic Carrier Screening

Genetic screening is the process where a population is tested for changes in DNA (the sequence of genes that comprise who we are) that can potentially be passed on to offspring and result in a genetic disorder. Genetic screening is typically accomplished through a blood draw or cheek swab.  The sample is then screened for specific changes in the DNA sequence (DNA mutations) that have been associated with a particular genetic disease. Genetic testing is typically performed on both the female and male partners that will be contributing to the resulting pregnancy.  

There are over 30,000 genes that comprise the human genome. Individuals carry two copies of the vast majority of genes that comprise the genome.   In some cases, a DNA mutation in single copy of a gene in either partner can be associated with a genetic disorder. More commonly, both partners are carriers (where they have one unaffected gene and one gene affected by a clinically significant mutation).  In either situation, there is a risk to transmit a genetic disorder to the resulting offspring.  

Pre-genetic carrier screening is offered to patients before they reproduce. This testing will evaluate whether they are a carrier for a condition. With regard to autosomal recessive conditions, both the egg and the sperm have to be carriers of a condition to have a 25% risk of having a child affected with this autosomal recessive disorder. An example of an autosomal recessive disorder is cystic fibrosis.

Pre-Genetic Testing of the Embryo

When there is a recognized risk of having an affected child through genetic screening, it may be possible to prevent transmission through testing of blastocysts (a process known as pre-implantation genetic testing for monogenic disorders or PGT-M). This involves biopsy of day 5-6 embryos from IVF and testing the embryos for their unaffected, carrier, and fully affected status for the genetic disorder in question. Unaffected or carrier embryos can then be preferentially transferred to avoid having an affected child or to eliminate future transmission of the disorder in question.  

Pre-Genetic Testing (PGT) is when 5-10 cells of the day 5-7 embryo (blastocyst stage) are biopsied and evaluated to determine if the embryo is 23 chromosome competent. The cells that are biopsied are the cells that make up the cells for the placenta, not the cells that contribute to the fetus. It is not regarded at detrimental to the embryo.